STaR Awards


The Northampton Student Teaching and Representation (STaR) Awards is an evening ceremony held annually in partnership with the University.

This prestigious event gives us the opportunity to celebrate both students and staff, who have made an outstanding impact on your university experience.

The Awards are student-owned, with each category and criteria being designed by students as well as nominated, shortlisted and selected by students.

They are held in high regard across the University and not only offer students a route to recognising outstanding teaching/learning, support and enhancement of the student experience, but also provide inspiration to members of staff. 

In addition, University staff are given an opportunity to champion the exceptional work and contribution that Course and Faculty Reps make to the student experience.

The comments and best practice you share with us are passed on to the University. And, if your nomination is shortlisted for an award, you will be invited to join the nominated staff member at the 2018 STaR Awards ceremony, which entails a 3 course sit down meal and is to be held at The Saints Rugby Ground, Franklin's Gardens.

There are seven categories to nominate in:

  • Faculty Lecturer of the Year (from the winners of this, the student selection panel will determine the winner of the Outstanding Lecturer of the Year award).

  • Personal Academic Tutor of the Year

  • Innovative and Tech-savvy Lecturer of the Year

  • Support Staff of the Year

  • Advancement of Equality and Diversity

  • Faculty Rep of the Year

  • Course Rep of the Year.


Nominations Open: Monday 19th March 2018 | 5pm

Nominations Close: Thursday 19th April 2018 | 5pm

Event Day: Thursday 24th May 2018.


When nominating, please consider how well the nomination fulfils the essence of the award and how the nominee’s contribution impacted upon the individual student’s experience and/or the wider and future student body.

You can submit your nomination by clicking the link HERE.

If you are a University staff member, you can submit your nominations for a Student Rep by clinking the link HERE.